top of page
Search
  • wadeurspider01

Aftermath by Terri Blackstock

“The deafening sound, like some confusing combination of gunshot and lightning bolt, a blast that blacked out the lights and knocked her to the ground.”


“He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High will abide in the shadow of the Almighty. I will say to the Lord, ‘My refuge and my fortress, My God, in whom I trust!’”


“‘He makes me lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside quiet waters; He restores my soul.’”


4.25 Stars Out Of 5


I hadn’t read Terri Blackstock in awhile and almost forgot how much I enjoyed her writing style and books. Aftermath is no exception and will surely be a book enjoyed by all readers. The book begins with a bang, or rather an explosion, at a presidential candidate’s rally. Blackstock does an excellent job setting the stage in Atlanta, Georgia with plenty of three dimensional characters. Jamie was a great main character, a widowed lawyer and mother of a daughter. Dustin had a lot of layers as the accused bomber. I liked the dynamic between the two as we learned their history of growing up as next door neighbors. Great spiritual aspects as well.


One thing to note about this great book is that it is less of a whodunnit book (that part is not much of a mystery) but more of a series of events that unfold and how it affects its characters.


All in all, I really enjoyed this book and need to make it a priority to reading some of Terri Blackstock’s previous books.


* I received a complimentary copy of this book from Netgalley and Thomas Nelson. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.*


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page