top of page
Search
  • wadeurspider01

Dallas Willard: Life Without Lack: Living In The Fullness Of Psalm 23

5 out of 5 stars!


“The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want. He makes me lie down in green pastures. He leads me beside still waters. He restores my soul. He leads me in paths of righteousness for his name's sake. Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me. You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; you anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows. Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life, and I shall dwell in the house of the Lord forever.”


“When faith, death to self, and love are alive in you, you will find that hope and joy pervade your entire life as a natural result. Each one is a gift from God, and our privilege and calling is to become the kind of people who can receive these gifts and work with God to develop them as we learn to live a life without lack.”


“The life without lack is known by those who have learned how to trust God in the moment of their need. In the moment of need. Not before the moment of need, not after the moment of need when the storm has passed, but in the moment of need. For it is in that moment, when everything else is gone, that you know the reality of God.”


What an experience this was! I went into this book not anticipating just how deep and life-changing it was going to be. While based around the 23rd psalm, it somehow encompasses so much more. I found myself amazed at truth after truth. Dallas Willard definitely had a knack for teaching and going deeper as you search your heart and soul.


Every chapter, I slowly read the 23rd psalm. This verse has always been important to me as it was my mother’s favorite verse. She recited it often, even in her last living moments. Dallas Willard draws such a beautiful picture behind the words as well as offering what it means to live in plenitude; not that we have everything (which we won’t) but that with Christ, we are without lack. Christ’s sufficiency gives me more than we ever need; our cup runs over. And because of this, we will see our faith grow into something that no matter the situation, we will not want, we have no need to be anxious, and we can tackle everything life sends our way. We will Be Christ crucified and as a result, we can live a life of joy committed to serving God in all we do while serving our neighbors around us. We will demonstrate the love of Jesus and show the world what it means to live a life without lack.



22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page