top of page
Search
  • wadeurspider01

False Pretense by Heather Day Gilbert

5 Stars Out Of 5!

"Why is everything coming back to the Mothman?"

"Dark of hair and pure of heart, this is only just the start. Good things come in threes."


"’Trust in the Lord, with all thine heart.’ Those words are the reminder I need. God is in control.”


Another fantastic Heather Day Gilbert novel! I am a huge fan of many of her series, but her Murder In The Mountains series is my favorite. It felt like an eternity since Book 3 came out so this was definitely one of my anticipated releases this year. Tess is a great heroine and all the secondary characters are excellent. I was glad to learn more about Axel.


What I love about a lot of her books are that they take place in her native West Virginia. I love the authenticity and West Virginia is like a character of its own. Living in neighboring Virginia makes me want to come and visit some of the places she mentions. The fact that she brings in the Mothman legend into the story is really cool!

I thought the mystery was strong as they dealt with a serial killer and Mothman sightings. I have some suspicions on the culprit but admittedly, this didn’t happen until shortly before the big reveal. And Gilbert throws in another twist that I did not see coming. So very satisfying!


And oh, this has to be one of the coolest book covers I have seen in awhile!!


There’s a good chance this was the last one as it wraps up nicely so all I can say is go read this series now!



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page