top of page
Search
  • wadeurspider01

Heart Of Stone by David James Warren

5 Stars Out Of 5!


“They say that without hope, people perish. I say hope crushes the soul.”

“Maybe the journey isn’t about fixing things, but…the journey itself.”


“If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just, and will forgive our sins and cleanse us from all unrighteousness.”


What an amazing ride and journey this book series has been. And Book 6, Heart Of Stone, is no exception. This book and series has everything I look for in books: suspense, grittiness, mystery, humor, good vs. evil, multilayered characters, and profound faith elements. And for someone who doesn’t like romance in Christian books, this series is the exception. I found so much of it to be genuine, from the characters’ feelings to their dialogue to their actions. Which I admit, can be a bit ironic how genuine it feels considering it is a time travel book where suspension of belief is required. But of course, this book and series is so much more more than this. It is a faith journey that just so happens to mash together time travel and detective crime fiction flawlessly together. This is definitely a crown jewel in Christian fiction and I can’t believe that I almost passed over reading this when it first came out. I’m glad I saw all the positive Goodreads reviews and gave it a try!


What was great about Heart Of Stone is that it wraps up the entire series perfectly. For the first five books, you come to expect that Rembrandt Stone will do his best to solve a crime while adversely affecting his future with an breathtaking cliffhanger. All these mistakes or alterations were a learning experience and I really liked the theme of how we don’t go through life perfectly and it’s the mistakes and the seasons of valleys that make us who we are. And it’s trust in God that allows us to see the blessings of our lives.


My only complaint in this book is that the villain was not a surprise. I was expecting a twist but that’s okay. Sometimes the journey more than makes up for it.


*I received a complimentary copy of this book from Justreads for review. All opinions expressed are my own.




6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page