top of page
Search
  • wadeurspider01

Joke And Dagger by Christy Barritt

3.75 stars out of 5


“This film will be the death of you.”


“But suddenly my stay in Lantern Beach was looking a lot more dangerous and more exciting than any film I’d ever shot.”


“If we weren’t careful, dark emotions could ruin us. I’d be wise to keep that in mind also. The moment we thought we were above it was the moment pride stepped in and showed us our true colors.”


Another pretty good Joey Darling book by Christy Barritt. This is probably my favorite series of hers so I always have pretty high expectations. But like the last book, the jokes haven’t been as plentiful. A lot of the books in this series have made me laugh out loud with the humor and pop culture references. This one tries at times but the humor sometimes falls flat. The good news is that the mystery aspect on this one is pretty good and I didn’t guess the villain during the final reveal. And that’s usually what makes this series so good.


One thing I liked a lot was how Christy Barritt brings Joey and Jackson to Lantern Beach and we see characters from her Lantern Beach series. I did miss Nags Head some so hoping she goes back to that. It was also cool seeing Joey in her element, making a movie while at the same playing amateur detective and getting into all kinds of shenanigans. Looking forward to reading the next one, which is a Christmas book.



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page