top of page
Search
  • wadeurspider01

Lethal Intent by Cara Putman

5 Stars Out Of 5!


“Sometimes you know something is wrong and have to chase it until you find the why.”


“So this was what Praecursoria did. Offered terrible hope to those who had none.”


“Just being the hands and feet of Jesus in a small way.”

You never know what to expect when you read an author that is new to you. But I have heard good things about Cara Putman for awhile so I finally took the plunge...and oh wow, I am glad I did! This book was so unique; it was medical thriller, it was legal thriller without the courtroom, and it was a suspenseful mystery all rolled into one. It had some romance in there but it did not induce gagging or eye rolling by yours truly so it must have been just the right amount 😁. The storyline was complex in that it dealt with medical jargon but I was only intrigued and never bored or bogged down by it all. It also dealt with aspects of the law (again, not boring), foster homes, and there were dead bodies at unexpected turns. It kept me on the edge of my seat and I had trouble narrowing down the suspects to just one person.


Characters and setting often make a book and Cara Putnam does a great job here. Her main characters as well as secondary characters all had distinct, fleshed out personalities. You will find yourself rooting for Caroline and Brandon (who I definitely connected to). I love a book that takes place in Virginia since that’s where I live.


Lastly, I loved the Christian elements in this book. The characters weren’t perfect but had a heart for God, serving, and striving to do what was right. Brandon’s heart for the foster children and Caroline’s empathy for others were clear in their actions and we all know that actions often speak louder than words.


As I mentioned before, this was my first Cara Putman book. But it most certainly will not be my last!


* I received a complimentary copy of this book from Netgalley and Thomas Nelson. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.*




2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page