top of page
Search
  • wadeurspider01

The Letter Keeper by Charles Martin

“Trafficking in people is an evil without comparison.”


“I don’t really understand it, but somehow, in some impossible way, love reached down inside me, took out all the old and dirty—the scars and the stains that no soap anywhere would ever wash out. And love didn’t just clean me but made me new. And maybe the craziest part of that is how I see me.”


“For we alone are the keepers of the letters that set us free.”


4.25 Stars Out Of 5


The Letter Keeper, the sequel to The Water Keeper, is a great read. In my review of The Water Keeper, I mentioned that it was one of the best books I had ever read. It’s one of those books that can be hard to read at times because of the subject matter, but important in shining a light to a global problem. Evil exists in the world and Charles Martin shows us what other evil and love can do.


Sequels are hard. You find yourselves comparing it to the previous book. So 4.25 stars might seem unfair to a book that as good as this. But compared to The Water Keeper, I felt like something was lacking. There was a long stretch of between a quarter to a half of the book that had a lot of backstories that caused the book to drag at times. While a lot of this was necessary to the action packed second half, this was a large contrast to The Water Keeper. And a lot of it was really just a set up to Book Three, which I cannot wait to devour.


But what made this book so great in its own right is that it was so character driven. And because of that, this one packed a lot of emotions at various times. Maybe even more so than The Water Keeper. And I loved the familiar characters of Murphy, Bones, Summer, Angel, Clay, Ellie, and of course Gunner.


So I hope Book Three comes sooner than later!


* I received a complimentary copy of this book from Netgalley and Thomas Nelson. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.*


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page