top of page
Search
  • wadeurspider01

Trial & Error

3.75 Out Of 5

“If I’m honest about it, my life has been a succession of trials and errors—a lot of false starts, wrong turns, and dead ends.”


“To wrongfully deprive a deserving parent the right to be with his or her child was inexcusable.”


“Everybody tries to work through the difficult things in life in their own way.”


This was a good book by Robert Whitlow. It kept my interest at the beginning, dragged a bit in the middle, but then picked up again in the last quarter. Whitlow does a great job creating Milton County and a lot of the fleshed out characters within it. There were good dynamics between Buddy, Gracie, and Mayleigh. I also thought Beatrice and Judge Williams were interesting characters. The storyline kept my attention as Buddy and the gang are not only searching for a missing teenager but he is also searching for his infant daughter that went missing about 18 years earlier. And as always, there are a lot of faith aspects and this one focused a lot on prayer.


My only complaint is that I felt like there were some unresolved parts of the story. Not sure if some of this was just red herrings or Robert Whitlow didn’t think they were important to come back and address. I also thought there could have been some editing done to help the middle part that dragged a little.


But all in all, it was a good read. Just not as good as A Time To Stand.


* I received a complimentary copy of this book from Netgalley and Thomas Nelson. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.*



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page