top of page
Search
  • wadeurspider01

Veiled In Smoke by Jocelyn Green

5 Stars Out Of 5!!!


“Who prefers darkness over light, except he who has darkness in his heart?”


“Just because the windows had been shattered in a fire that destroyed Chicago did not mean Christ was not still on His throne.”


“There is beauty in the imperfect too. You are a God who uses broken vessels. You are not afraid of human limitations or scars.”


This is my first Jocelyn Green novel and it will definitely not be my last. If you have never read her books or haven’t read this book, please do right away! This was the 80th book I have read this year and it might well be the best one so far.


Honestly, this book is a little out of my wheelhouse. I read mostly mystery and not a lot of historical fiction. While this is definitely historical fiction, I was pleasantly surprised to find that it also contained a nice mystery aspect. I loved learning about the Great Chicago Fire of 1871 as well as learned a lot about the Civil War (soldier’s heart, Galvanized Yankees, etc).


What made this such a fantastic book was how richly drawn the characters were. Meg, Silvie, Stephen, Nate, Jasper, and Hiram were so well developed and even early in the book they felt like familiar characters. That is not easy to do. I also thought Green tackled delicate subjects well.


Like I said, this will not be my last Jocelyn Green book. I can’t wait to continue with this series.



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page